Your Eye Care Center near Cedar Park
Arbor Eye Center made it a mission to provide the highest quality eye care and optical service available in Austin. Dr. Ellen P. Crothers and her husband, Frank, have 35 years combined experience in the optical industry. Ellen has always been fascinated by the eye, and she finds fulfillment in improving the vision of her patients. Frank has worked in all areas of the optometric office, from grinding lenses in the lab, to filing insurance, to instructing patients on the proper use of contact lenses. He is an excellent manager and a patient advocate. Ellen and Frank decided to combine their talents and start Arbor Eye Center, P.A. on June 4, 2005.
We set ourselves apart from other optometrist offices a few ways:
- We see the patient as a person and an extension of our eye care family, not a number.
- We spend as much time as possible with each patient, to insure that all questions have been answered. It is our goal to provide only the best eye care and optical available in Austin, Texas.
Arbor Eye Care Center Services
Center for Eyecare near Cedar Park
Before the arrival of European settlers in the 19th century, the Cedar Park area was inhabited by Native American tribes including the Tonkawa, the Lipan Apache, and the Comanche. A paleo-American archaeological site (named the Wilson-Leonard site) was discovered in Cedar Park in 1983 that showed evidence of continual habitation of the area since circa 5000 BC.
In the mid-19th century the community was known as Running Brushy, named after a spring that formed the headwaters of a creek of the same name. In 1873 George and Harriet Cluck, after having run cattle up the Chisholm Trail for many years, bought 329 acres (1.33 km2) of land that included the Running Brushy spring. Their ranch formed the core of the community that would one day become Cedar Park.